## ST. PATRICK'S SOCIETY OF MONTREAL COMMUNITY AWARD

2018 Nominations are now being accepted for the Community Award.

Deadline for submissions is Monday, January 15, 2018.

## **GUIDELINES**

The history of this Award, which was first presented in 1993, indicates two distinct goals:

- 1. To honour a person within the Irish community who has served in low-profile positions yet who has worked wholeheartedly for the good of the whole community.
- 2. To honour a Montrealer of Irish descent who has assumed a broader mandate to serve beyond the borders of our local Irish societies. His/her achievements bring honour to us all and it is fitting that we acknowledge such commitment.

## RECIPIENTS

- 1993 Rev. Russell Breen, Pastor, St. Patrick's Basilica (Restoration)
- 1994 Joe Mell, Community Volunteer
- **1995 Sr. Margaret Power**, Educator and Sister of the Sacred Heart Community, Montreal
- 1996 Charlotte Tansey, President and Founder, Thomas More Institute for Adult Education
- 1997 Bernadette Short, Irish Dancing Teacher and International Adjudicator
- 1998 Brian Gallery, Chair, Canadian Irish Studies Foundation
- 1999 Rev. Tom McEntee, Pastor, St. Edmund of Canterbury, Beaconsfield
- 2000 Audrey McKeown, Community Volunteer
- **2001 Dr. Gus O'Gorman**, Founder, Montreal Irish Language Study Circle
- **2002 Mary McDaid**, Community Volunteer
- 2003 David Hannaford, Past-President, Irish Protestant Benevolent Society
- **2004 Sr. Maura McGrath**, CND; Founder and Director of Refuge Juan Moreno
- 2005 Brian O'Neill, Past President, St. Patrick's Society; Former Vice President, NHL
- 2006 Patrick Rourke, Pillars Trust; ESCC; CCS; Refuge Juan Moreno

- 2007 Lynn Doyle, Past-President, St. Patrick's Society; President, Cine Gael Montreal
- 2008 Marianna O'Gallagher, Historian of Grosse Ile and Irish Quebec
- 2009 Michael Kenneally, Founder, School of Canadian Irish Studies
- **2010 Margaret Healy**, Community Volunteer
- 2011 Mabel Ann Fitzgerald, Community Volunteer
- 2012 Fergus V. Keyes, Community Volunteer
- 2013 Martin P. Murphy, ESCC Executive Director and Community Volunteer
- 2014 Leo Delaney, Jeanie Johnston Educational Foundation Chairman
- 2015 Jimmy Heaslip, co-founder, Montreal Irish Rugby Football Club
- 2016 Andrew W. Fogarty, Past President, St. Patrick's Society, Community Volunteer
- **2016 Ken O'Donnell,** Community Volunteer (posthumous)
- 2017 Lisa Forget, Community Volunteer

## ST. PATRICK'S SOCIETY OF MONTREAL COMMUNITY AWARD NOMINATION

Please note that this nomination must be received by the Society by January 15, 2018

Nominator:		
Address:		
Telephone number: E-mail address:		
Nominee:		
Address:		
Telephone number: E-mail address:		
Please tell us why you are not	minating this person for the St. Patrick's Socie	ety of
		ety of
Montreal Community Award:		